Falmouth High School Baseball
Ben Lowry Inducted into the Maine Baseball Hall of Fame
by Falmouth Baseball on July 25th, 2017

​The Maine Baseball Hall of Fame will welcome its new members at its 47th annual Induction Ceremony and Banquet Sunday, July 23, 2017 at the Holiday Inn By the Bay in Portland.

​Being inducted are Ben Lowry, Dennis Damon, Dave Paul, Dave Gaw, Gil Arnold, Dave Littlefield, Paul Mitchell, Brian O’Gara, Elmer Rising, Derek Soule and Dan Warren. Arnold and Rising are being recognized posthumously.
(Photo by Elizabeth Guarino - Information Below from the Bangor Daily News)
Lowry, of Bridgton, was a three-time all-state selection at Falmouth High School and compiled a .426 career batting average at Colby College in Waterville.

​​​Paul, of Veazie, was a three-sport standout at Orono High School and coached the Old Town-Orono American Legion team to three state titles. He serves as Zone 1 commissioner for Maine.

​Damon, of Trenton, founded the Acadians American Legion team and has served as the American Legion State Field Director for 22 years.

Gaw, of Guilford, was a two-time All-State Series selection at the University of Maine (1962-1963) and coached at Piscatquis Community High School for 23 years.

Arnold, of Mattawamkeag, was the premier pitcher of his era on the Mattawamkeag Merchants during the heyday of town team baseball.

Mitchell, of Waterville, was an outstanding second baseman for the University of Maine from 1946-1948. The Paul Mitchell Batting Pavilion at UMO was dedicated in his honor.

Littlefield, formerly of Portland, was General Manager of the Pittsburgh Pirates and currently serves as a major league scout for the Detroit Tigers.

​O’Gara, formerly of Westbrook, has worked in the Commissioner’s office of Major League Baseball for 23 years as vice president of special events.

Rising, of Rockland, was undefeated as a schoolboy pitcher at Rockland High School in the 1920s and later pitched for the semi-pro Easterns.

Soule of Cumberland, was an all-conference infielder at Greely High School and has coached the Rangers for 17 seasons, winning four state championships.

​Warren of Scarborough, was general manager of the Libby-Mitchell Post American Legion team for 17 years and founded the Southern Maine Kids Travel Baseball League.

Posted in MEBHOF    Tagged with Ben Lowry, maine, baseball, Hall of Fame, Induction, Falmouth


Leave a Comment

alumni (6)
Marist (2)
#FHSBaseball #MESports #SigningDay2016 10 teams to watch 100th win 14Ks 1st baseman 1st team 2014 2015-2016 2016 2017 25 players to watch 29th high school win 2nd team 3-run home run Abbie Murrell Aiken Alex Maxsimic Alex Whitmore All-Region Team All-Region All-Stars All-USA American Family Insurance Anthony Galli Antonio Pardi Association Athlete of the Month Bags4MyCause Bangor Barrett Grant Baseball Factory Baseball camps Bates Ben Lowry Benefits Best Baseball Player in the State 2017 Biddeford Bonny Eagle Brad Smith Brady Douglas Brandon Burnell Brett Emmertz CBS Sports Cal Inlow Caleb Lydick Cam Smith Cameron Cox Cameron Guarino Cameron Cape Elizabeth Chargers Charlie Emple Charlie Pochepan Cheverus Chris Camelio Chris Grady Chris Tracz Class A State Championship Coach Brian Dill Coach Celano Coach Craig Pendleton Coach Kevin Winship Coach Mac Coach Pendleton Coach Winship Colby Emmertz Colby-Sawyer Colin Coyne Colin Lento College Baseball News College Commitments College baseball Connecticut Conner Coffin Connor Coffin Craig Pendleton Cumberland Dartmouth Deering Derek Foss Derek Smith Donations Donnie Tocci Dr. John Winkin Dustin Crawford ERA EdgeSports Eli Rapkin Stiles FHS Baseball FHS Boosters FHSBaseball Fab 5 Falmouth Baseball Falmouth High School Baseball Falmouth House of Pizza Falmouth JV Falmouth Little League Falmouth Maine Falmouth Varsity Baseball Falmouth Varsity Pre-season Falmouth Varsity Falmouth win Falmouth Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Offensive and Defensive Lineman Awards Frank Torre Freeport Game Recap Garret Aube Garrett Aube Garrett Tracy Gatorade Player of the Year Gatorade Gorham Gray-New Gloucester Gray Greely Grffin Aube Griff Aube Griffin Aube Guarino Hadlock Field Hall of Fame Hannaford Cause Bag Program Hannaford Headfirst Herald High School Baseball High Hogan Tracy Home Run Home runs Homerun Honor roll Hunter Owen Ike Kiely Illinois State Induction JV Baseball JV Jack Davenport Jack Kidder Jack Saffian Jackman Graver Jackman Gravier Jackson Coutts Jackson Quinn Jake Alpren Jake Knopp Jake Ricker Jared Brooks Jason Farmer Jesse Melchiskey Jesse Melchisky Jesse Melichiskey Jordan Ward Josh Lefevre Katelyn Cox Keegan Stanton Kennebunk Kevin Winship Kevin Kinsman Kip Richard LHP Lake Region Left-handed pitcher Lessons MAAC MIke Gramse Madaline Wood Maine Baseball Hall of Fame Maine Baseball Maine High School Baseball Coaches Association Maine Hits Maine Principals Association Maine South Region Baseball Championships March Marcus Cady Marie W. Noel Marist Matt Gramse Matt MacDowell Max Foriter Max Fortier MaxPreps Michael Hoffer Mr. Baseball NHSBCA NLI Nate Howard Nate Rogers National High School Baseball Coaches Association National Leadership Award National Letter of Intent New England New Gloucester New Hamsphire New Haven New York Nick Mancini No-Hitter Northeast-10 OF Oberlin Ohio Opening Day Outstanding PBR PPH Patrick Horgan Perfect Game Play it Forward Program Player of the Year Player Poland High School Baseball Poland Portland Precision Entertainment Preseason Press Herald Press Quarterfinals RBI Rangers Red Foxes Regional Reusable Bags Rhode Island Robbie Amitage Robbie Armitage Robbie Rupert G. Johnson Award Ryan Mucci Ryan Sergent Ryan Twitchell SACSN SMAA Sacopee Valley Salve Regina Sam Kidder Sam Manganello Sam Spugnardi Scarborough Scholarships School Semifinals Senior SkyHawks South Portland Spring Athletes of the Year Spring Preview State Championship Student Athletes Sunday Tanner Bernier Team Power Ranking Telegram Tennessee The Forecaster Thomas Wood Thomas Thornton Academy Trevor LaBonte Tyler Gee UNI USM UT Arlington UT Martin UTM Umpires Under Armour University of New Hampshire University of New Haven Varsity Baseball WMC Wells Westbrook Western West Will Blum Will Bopp Windham Winship Yachtsmen Yarmouth York Youth sports Zach Nash Zachary Brown academic all conference all-academic all-america all-conference all-star all-state allstate all alumi alumni alum apparel athletic awards award baseballtown baseball cam guarino catcher class a coach college baseball players from Maine college combined no-hitter commit conference connor aube connor macdowell d1 exemplary character falmouth high school finals football fryeburg fundraiser grades grand slam high school varsity high school holy cross homeruns honorable mention left-handed linemen luke velas maine nebj new england baseball journal no-no pitcher player interviews playoffs portland press herald pre-season prep baseball report recap recruiting reece armitage scouting semi-finals shorts shut out shutout signingday student-athlete sweatpants sweatshirts t-shirts teamwork team telegram all-state team two-hitter undefeated underclass varsity walk-off home run will d'agostino win ​Edward J. "Packy" McFarland